"My name is" or "My name's"?

English grammar and usage issues

Moderator: Joe

Susie

"My name is" or "My name's"?

Unread post by Susie »

This is something that a French friend, who speaks excellent English, asked me the other day but I couldn't give her a definite answer (I'm new to TEFL and studying grammar!). In written English when the question "What's your name?" is posed, is it good grammer to write "My name's ....." as opposed to "My name is ......."?
SakuraGirl

Unread post by SakuraGirl »

Although "My name's..." is grammatically correct, it wouldn't be considered proper or formal English.

"My name's..." is more a slang pronunciation than a written form.
BrianWalther

Hello, my name is

Unread post by BrianWalther »

Hi ya..

Greetings from Shanghai, China.. and my name is Brian Walthers. Feel free to call me Brian.

You answered your own question.. My name is.. vs. My names' ... one is slang and the other is common.. I think the formal way to introduce yourself is.. I am...

Hello.. Nice to meet you.. I am ....

Take care
Brian
SakuraGirl

Unread post by SakuraGirl »

I didn't pose a question.
Sanzo

Unread post by Sanzo »

SakuraGirl wrote:I didn't pose a question.
I Think he was refering to the one who made the topic.

Anyways, "My name is" would be the proper of the two, and the latter is informal.
HeatherC

Re: "My name is" or "My name's"?

Unread post by HeatherC »

The simple but confusing answer is: both are correct!

We can use both versions in written or spoken English.

In spoke English, "my name's" is preferred. It is faster an eliminate an entire syllable.

In formal or academic written English, "my name is" is preferred. Many professors will outlaw the use of contractions in academic English.

For everyday written English, both versions are fine. ESL textbooks generally teach both and make sure students know that they both have the same meaning.