Warm Up Exercises?

Ideas, tips, discussion

Moderator: Joe

Katie

Warm Up Exercises?

Unread post by Katie »

Hi, I am a new student TEFL teacher just starting out. Can anyone suggest some 5-15 minutes warm up exercises for the start of the day either beginner or intermediate level.
:roll:

Thanks!
Katie
Bob

'A bagful of (9) ice-breakers'

Unread post by Bob »

Taken from someone (sorry I don't have your name!) who posted this earlier:

'A bagful of (9) ice-breakers'

Here is a selection of ten ice-breakers (5-12 mins) that I have used at upper levels (Upper.Int. and above) - most however, could also be adapted for lower levels.

1. SPELLING MATCH - to revise recently presented 'difficult' words (8-14 words).
Here you choose a number of words you wish to test and divide the class into two teams (A and B). First, read out word one to team A and between them, they have to spell it verbally (slowly). If they spell the whole word without having to correct themselves, they score one point but if at any point they call out an incorrect letter (in sequence) then the 'part-word' is handed over to team B to complete (and back again if they make an error). This proceeds until one team finishes off the word. You keep on going in the game (i.e. word 1 - team A, word 2 - team B etc.) until all the words have been presented. Then simply tot up the points to see which team has won (if there hasn't been a draw that is). This is a fun, competitive way of revising vocab and practising spelling.

2. TEACHING/PRACTISING IDIOMS BY DEMONSTRATION (IDIODEM). Here the teacher can choose 6-10 idioms (new or recently presented) and simply demonstrate them with realia. It's up to you to choose idioms that lend themselves to this, e.g. to cut corners, (no) strings attached, hit the nail on the head etc. You could also present idioms pictorially. And finally, you could get the students themselves to present idioms in such ways.