Terrible Boss?

Discussion about TEFL jobs in Europe

Moderator: Joe

Mary-Kate

Terrible Boss?

Unread post by Mary-Kate »

I would like an opinion about my current boss because I would like to know if others have been/are in the same situation as me...

A little bit about me: I've been teaching for 8 years and have a CELTA, TEFL and I'm an examiner for Pearson, Cambridge and IELTS. I've worked in Spain, Holland, Italy, Austria and now live in Germany.

I love my job and I would never change it. However, my boss is a narcissist and very competitive. I HAVE to follow all her lesson plans, materials and use course books which are not exactly to my taste nor style. Sometimes, naturally, I like to add my own materials but she hates it. She has a regimented way of doing things and micro-manages me. She has never even seen me teach but she continues to make horrid comments about my style and way of doing things. I got shining feedback from all my courses apart from one thing: the course-books we're using - the students hate them. This did not go down well. She said that I wasn't open-minded about using her materials and that the students would LIKE the books more if I liked them. "Teachers have an influence on students so if you don't like something, they also won't do it". True, I guess, but in this case they actually just didn't like the books. She's had 4 teachers leave this year because they can't stand her, the terrible contract we have and/or the teaching method.