Help ! İreland/Spain

Discussion about TEFL jobs in Europe

Moderator: Joe

Dublinerr

Help ! İreland/Spain

Unread post by Dublinerr »

Hi everyone ! Writting from Turkey.I'm a fan of Dublin / ireland.And I have a bachelor degree at physics department also I studied pedagogic formation.I'll go to the tefl course.But can ı found a tefl job from ireland ? İs my degree and tefl diploma enough ? By the way I want to do this for long term if its possible I want to live there everytime Or if its not possible,how is spain ? Can ı easily found a tefl job from Spain ? Also where should ı go to the course ? My country or The country I will go ? İf you can help me , I'll be very very happy..
Briona
Top Contributor

Re: Help ! İreland/Spain

Unread post by Briona »

Hi there, and welcome to the forum!

I'm from Ireland, and I've been teaching English in Spain for the past five years. :)

I don't think you'd have any luck in Ireland (or indeed any other country where English is the first language). The TEFL market in Ireland is very small, and the jobs tend to go to Irish people who have bags of overseas experience. There is simply no need to apply for a work visa for a non-EU citizen when they have so many of their own citizens who could do the job.

While there is plenty of work in Spain, the market - at least in the big cities - is saturated. In any case, as a non-EU citizen, you can't just come here and look for work. You'd need a visa that allowed you to work, and the chances of that happening are pretty slim. This is because EU hiring law dictates that in order to hire a non-EU citizen, employers first have to prove that there were no suitably-qualified EU citizens who could do the job. When it comes to teaching English, that's not a very likely proposition.