Payment for teaching English

Discussion about TEFL jobs in Europe

Moderator: Joe

flutes52

Payment for teaching English

Unread post by flutes52 »

Dear All - I shall be reading the threads in this forum properly over the next few days, but for now I urgently wanted to post my question.
As follows: I'd appreciate the advice of people who have been teaching for some time, if possible in France. I live in France and my main (almost ex) career is in publishing, as an editor - so I work with words. Before we moved here I knew it would be harder to earn a living, so took a short, weekend TEFL course. I have some previous teaching experience in horticulture, mostly with adults but I had adolescents too - some said I was quite good at it.
I quite like teaching, although I find it very stressful - and recently found myself wishing I had trained properly. But now I am in a little bit of a pickle. In August I advertised for work, mainly to help us to eat, not to find something 'to do'! I now have one private pupil for English (!!). The teacher in our own (this is important - it's where we live) village school rang me up and asked if I'd like to teach there - I had never really envisaged standing in front of a class of 7-10 year olds, but I said 'yes'. I was told it would be voluntary; wasn't really happy about that, but said nothing. Then they added the affiliated kindergarten into the equation. So on Mondays I do two schools - only 3/4 hour each, but there's an awful lot of preparation as I am not an experienced teacher of English and I have the added difficulty of having absolutely no control over how the classroom is laid out. So it works out to be about 5 hours a week (plus, sometimes) with the teaching, preparation, travelling time. Certainly it occupies virtually the whole of my Monday. I should add that, rightly or wrongly, I am doing this almost entirely in my lame French, thus adding to the stress.