Teaching English to Chefs.

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

jasminade
Rising Star

Teaching English to Chefs.

Unread post by jasminade »

Dear Lucy,

I want to thank you first for the assistance you gave me a year or so ago. I am now in China in a wonderful position both professionally and personally. Thanks!

Okay, to business! I am teaching various forms of English language lessons but I have just been asked to teach a group of chefs as they will be on an exchange programme, in anticipation of the Olympic games. They will be absolute beginners and I should be okay with that; but my question is, would you be aware of any courses/materials to assist me in teaching them? I have "googled" here and there but not with great result.

Anything that you may offer would be greatfully received.

Thanks!

Jas.
Lucy
Top Contributor

Re: Teaching English to Chefs.

Unread post by Lucy »

Hi Jasminade,

It’s good to see you back again.

Unfortunately, I don’t know of any material for teaching chefs; I guess you’re going to have to design the course yourself.

It might help if you find out whether the chefs will be reading recipes in English or whether they’ll be speaking to other chefs. Then you’ll know whether to focus on spoken or written language. Bear in mind that the vocabulary of cooking can be difficult: roast, dice, chop, baste.... However, the structures of recipes are fairly straightforward, instructions and sequencers: next, then you fry the bacon with the onions..... In some ways it’s easy for beginners and in other senses a real challenge for them.