How to make your students participate at a online lesson

For general discussion between teachers

Moderator: Joe

omerfurkanp

How to make your students participate at a online lesson

Unread post by omerfurkanp »

Hello, I wanted to ask how to make students participate during a online lesson. I think it is harder than a lesson in a classroom environment.
I am waiting for your suggestions.
kellanfarday

Re: How to make your students participate at a online lesson

Unread post by kellanfarday »

I graduated college just last year, and have always been engaged as a student, here is what my professors did to keep us engaged. (I'll only be sharing the tactics that worked, of course)

1. Tell stories (this keeps us waiting what's going to happen next and makes the lesson stick better in the mind)
2. Allow students to give input and feedback on the lessons
3. Being animated during zoom classes
4. Put quizzes after the lecture, which forces us to listen
5. Activities like breakout rooms

https://www.edutopia.org/video/keeping- ... l-learning
Regan@O2C

Unread post by Regan@O2C »

I use Off2Class content as well as the assessments, placement test and homework which really engages my students.
Theove

Unread post by Theove »

Online teaching is difficult for many teachers. I have recently tried these methods in my practice, but personally, they help me a lot.

1. Help the children understand distance learning tools.
If they suddenly do not understand how the webinar platform or training application works, they will simply be distracted by technical problems. Ideally, this is to highlight a separate lesson in order to understand everything at once.

2. Remove distractions

Your main task is to help students focus their attentions exclusively on you. Therefore, whenever possible, conduct your lesson on a white, neutral, uniform background, or just use the background blur function.

3. Comment on your actions