Help with ideas re: context and error correction

For general discussion between teachers

Moderator: Joe

ljkp88

Help with ideas re: context and error correction

Unread post by ljkp88 » 04 Feb 2016, 14:20

Hello all.

Soon I will be doing short in-house sessions for my colleagues on setting context and error correction. I have been teaching for a few years but this is the first time that I have done anything like this, so I thought that it might be an idea to canvass a bit of opinion on the internet, rather than relating back to my own experience and referencing academic texts.

If anybody could offer some opinions in response to the following questions, or relate things that they have learned from their own experiences it would be greatly appreciated.

- How much of an influence does context have on what students learn during the rest of the class?

- What makes a good context? Could you give any examples of contexts that work/don't work in textbooks?

- If you are working through a textbook and come across a context that is particularly dry, or that you think won't work with your class, what do you do?

- How much error correction should be done throughout the lesson, and how much should be left to the end?

- What methods and activities do you use in error correction? Why do they work?

Any ideas would be much appreciated!

footballmad

Re: Help with ideas re: context and error correction

Unread post by footballmad » 05 Feb 2016, 19:42

Here’s my tuppence worth...