I need some initial advice please?

For general discussion between teachers

Moderator: Joe

matt123

I need some initial advice please?

Unread post by matt123 » 01 Apr 2015, 01:21

Hi,
This might be long-winded so please bear with me, I've got a lot of questions.
I'm currently in my final semester of university studying English Language (linguistics faculty) at the University of Manchester. I plan on travelling with my fiancee shortly after finishing my degree, possibly for a few years, and teaching english as a foreign language to fund my travels and gain professional work experience.
Ultimately, I'd like to have an established career in TEFL, I'd love to land a high-end tefl job in dubai (UAE) or similar developed country. However, it seems these well paid jobs ask for multiple years experience. For the first few years, I realise I have to set my sights lower, as a first time teacher, until I get some credentials.
I have a highly relevant degree and will have completed a 120 hour TEFL certification. However, I wont have my NQT (initial teacher training) which is a necessary requirement to teach in schools in England. It seems that this is not a requirement for teaching english as a foreign language, just a TEFL certificate and bacherlor degree, which I will have.

But theres a few things I'm still unsure about, namely:

1. Bearing in mind I will not initially have any prior teaching experience, what calibre of job can I initially expect with my degree and TEFL qualification. And am I realistically an employable candidate?

2. What country would you suggest as a starting point? I plan to travel to multiple areas, completing 6-12 month contracts at each before moving along

3. I don't care about how much I get paid as long as its enough to comfortably support me and my girlfriend, and accommodation is provided or accounted for in the salary.