Burn out after five years

For general discussion between teachers

Moderator: Joe

kevin

Burn out after five years

Unread post by kevin »

I've been teaching for five years and am beginning to get tired of doing the same thing every day.

Do others feel the same as me? What do you do to keep the excitement going?

Kevin
Dean

Your life force is running out

Unread post by Dean »

Sounds as though you might have something in common with the article below. :twisted:

Click it to read!

Battling Burn-Out
Your life force is running out
by Samuel Owens
trantrung

Unread post by trantrung »

I also have a problem like you. Now I feel bored to teach English anymore. As you know now I have to teach English to some minority ethnics in my country who can't speak and read my mother language,Vietnamese fluently.
It's really like a Hell in the Earth !
My heart like cold water in the fall lake
Svenja

Unread post by Svenja »

My advise to you is to bring some variation into your lessons. It's up to you to make it more fun.
Think of fun activities and use different visual aids. Let your students work in pairs, groups, teams whatever if it's different from what they're used to, it will make it more interesting for them as well as for you.
malcolm

Getting tired after 5 years

Unread post by malcolm »

Kevin,

A way to get motivated is to go to a conference or trade fair. You'll get loads of new ideas and come away motivated.

yOu could also try doing a new qualificaiton. YOur school might help pay this. Have you got the Dip? YOu could also try teaching something new like kids, business English, whatever.

Malcolm
MattMaleham

Unread post by MattMaleham »