Single mum wanted to teach but have a 9yr old daughter

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

jules1982

Single mum wanted to teach but have a 9yr old daughter

Unread post by jules1982 »

Hi everyone I have just enrolled on a course and as I want my daughter and me to travel, but I am wondering if anyone is working as a single parent with a child in tow, and how easy that has been for you? What have been the pitfalls, problems to look out for, or good things?

Also looking for recommendations for child friendly countries which are easy to adjust too. I don't have a degree, but spent 20 years in a senior marketing role, so I think I'd be great at business english.

My daughter speaks some french and we are learning Spanish at the same time as I am doing a master Tefl.

Any advice?

Many thanks All!

Jules
Briona
Top Contributor

Re: Single mum wanted to teach but have a 9yr old daughter

Unread post by Briona »

Hi Jules,

Welcome to the forum!
jules1982 wrote:I am wondering if anyone is working as a single parent with a child in tow, and how easy that has been for you? What have been the pitfalls, problems to look out for, or good things?
I don't have children so I can't comment on that aspect. However, I have been living and working abroad for over seven years now, during which time I have amassed a fair amount of knowledge about the TEFL industry.
jules1982 wrote:I don't have a degree...
First up, the lack of a degree is going to make finding legal work fairly difficult. A degree is now a requirement of most work visas, which means that you can take Asia off the table, along with the Middle East. You haven't said what type of TEFL course you're doing, but if it's an online/blended TEFL course, you can also take all native English-speaking countries, such as Ireland, the UK, Australia, and New Zealand off the table.