i-to-i job placement guarantee or going alone

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

GatorGrad

i-to-i job placement guarantee or going alone

Unread post by GatorGrad »

First, has anyone gone through i-to-i ( http://www.i-to-i.com/paid-jobs-abroad/) for their first TEFL job ? They seem fairly confident in being able to get you a job. My preference would be a ESL job in Spain, but I'm not too sure how difficult it will be without assistance.
As for my qualifications: I have bachelors degree from the University of Florida, No TEFL Certificate, but it shouldn't be too hard in getting one, and I'll have a full-year of experience in a consulting firm before I leave.

Thanks.
globalmj

Re: i-to-i job placement guarantee or going alone

Unread post by globalmj »

I am curious about this and i-to-i well. I am seriously considering doing the online certification this january but am not sure how the placement is.. what types, etc..

I have a masters and have taught at college level in Eastern Europe and the US.
Doogs

Re: i-to-i job placement guarantee or going alone

Unread post by Doogs »

I've just completed i to i's forty hour online course, and I'm off to teach in China in two weeks. I didn't get the job through i to i though, I just looked through the job forums on various EFL websites.

From what I gather through reading i to i's own literature on job hunting, Spain could be a tough nut to crack for your first job. A lot of European schools want a lot of teaching experience from applicants and they can afford to pick and choose due to the popularity of Europe as a teaching destination. I think a lot of people feel they would prefer a less 'alien' culture to live in than they would find in other countries.

Do i to i charge for their services? From what I gathered when researching jobs, agencies should charge the school, not the teacher, for their services. General advice seems to be stay away from those that ask you for money.