I _dread_ teaching this class - what ideas to try / change?

Teaching ESL to adults

Moderator: Joe

Chocmonster

I _dread_ teaching this class - what ideas to try / change?

Unread post by Chocmonster »

The class in question:
  • 15 Students between 19 and 50.
  • Students' level ungraded; the course has a mixture from absolute beginner (CEF A0?) (never had English in school, school was 30+ years ago) to those who passed their English Tertiary education leaving exam with top grades (CEF B2)
  • Studying a course to become qualified business people (Eastern Germany, Private training/FE college)
  • Students are to complete a ca. 1,000 word written project (in English, on some business topic of their choosing) for submission to the regional chamber of commerce
  • Students are studying a whole course (ca. 300 hours in a year, approx.80 hours is English alongside a full-time job - lessons are weekday evenings and Saturdays
  • No materials, course book provided (is there anything suitable for a class with such a range of levels?)
  • Very irregular timetable and attendance - after ca. 40 hours I still don't know all the student's names- most embarrassing
About me:
  • Trinity qualified (1 month course) June '07
  • Freelance in Germany from Sept '07 - Sept '08 (Technical college)
  • Full time employee at FE Vocational college since Sept '08
  • Modern language department of 1 (me)
  • 2nd year of teaching Business English

What happens in class:
  • Attendance issues (today 5 / 15 students, last lesson only eight)
  • Frequent departure of students during lesson time (I have mixed feelings about this, sometimes it is best for us all)
  • Extensive use of German by all
  • Written exercises typically started by 2/3 of students present, completed by 1/3 if lucky.
  • Some of the oldest students have yet to write, speak or read anything, even when placed in small groups of 'friendly' peers