Preparing Student for Interview (Business/Adult)

Teaching ESL to adults

Moderator: Joe

bridget

Preparing Student for Interview (Business/Adult)

Unread post by bridget »

Hi everyone :-)

I know it's a bit cheeky to join up and immediately demand help but... I need it! I am a teacher of mainly young learners in central Poland but I have a special case coming up in the coming week. Because I am the only native speaker around (well, British English anyway, which is what they all seem to want here... lucky for me!) I get a lot of random requests for private lessons, individual lessons etc etc.

I turn some down, but I had a desperate plea yesterday from a lady who is being interviewed in 3 weeks time for a job where she will be required to speak both English and Polish. Her English is therefore being tested - baptism of fire style - by the fact that the interview is to be conducted in English.

She is coming to me for 3 1 hour lessons to brush up. I imagine that after the first lesson I will have a good idea of what needs work and what I should be focusing on -- but I am struggling with inspiration for structuring the first lesson. Actvities and such. I guess I should effectively be giving her a practice interview... but I can't just bark questions at her for three hours straight. I also suppose she needs a bit of grammar focus (eg. past simple, what I did and also the ability to talk about future plans and her demands from the company and job). Basically I am looking for a bit of advice, somebody to point me in the right direction really!

Would be HUGELY appreciated, really.

Thank you in advance to any kind soul who can aid me.
Peter Easton
Top Contributor

Unread post by Peter Easton »

I did the very same thing a few weeks a ago as a favour for a friend of a friend.

I just did mock up interviews and it seemed to work. Each time I developed the dialogue a bit more and gave her a dozen questions which are always asked in job interviews such as: