Vaughan Town in Spain - are they a 'fair' employer?

Discussion about TEFL jobs in Europe

Moderator: Joe

newstudent

Vaughan Town in Spain - are they a 'fair' employer?

Unread post by newstudent »

I am very new to the world of TEFL and will be starting a CELTA in the new year, as some of you might have seen from my posts on other threads.

Until I begin my CELTA course [assuming that the college to which I have applied is happy with my pre-course test!!] I am trying to gain as much experience as possible. I have been working as a volunteer assistant with various groups of learners etc.

Several people I know have suggested that I apply to an organisation called Vaughan Town in order to get some further experience. Let me say at the outset that I am satisfied that this is a genuine organisation: it has a proper website etc.

My question is this: is Vaughan Town really treating its 'volunteers' fairly?

From what I can find out on its website and from talking to people, Vaughan Town was started in Spain by an American called Richard Vaughan, with the purpose of teaching Spaniards to speak English by a 'total immersion' method.