Hong Kong NET scheme

Discussion about jobs in Asia inc. Middle East

Moderator: Joe

parisjetaime

Hong Kong NET scheme

Unread post by parisjetaime »

Against some odds it seems, I have an interview at the end of the month for the Hong Kong PNET scheme (primary school NET scheme).

I say "against some odds" as I fall into category 4 - I don't have a degree in English, I don't have a PGCE / PGDE and I don't have any teaching experience. (I do have a CELTA - or will by March - and a degree in another subject.)

As someone brand new to TEFL I have no experience in TEFL teaching interviews and little idea of what to expect. Can anyone help with the things they're looking for? I've heard that the interview mainly focuses on your inter-personal skills (basically assessing how well you would work with other teaching staff) and your commitment to moving to Hong Kong. I have no idea what the 20-minute written test will cover - I don't know if this is a test of my English competency or something else.

Any help gratefully received!
Susan
Top Contributor

Re: Hong Kong NET scheme

Unread post by Susan »

I'd be surprised if they don't ask about teaching as well as inter-personal and commitment stuff. At primary level, teachers don't teach complex language and grammar. I suggest you pick up a book on teaching primary and have a quick read through it.
parisjetaime

Thanks Susan - that makes total sense and I'll definitely do that.

Anyone actually been through these interviews and have any tips?
HKthe

Unread post by HKthe »

They invite you to complete and pass a written test before inviting you to interview, do they not?

I'm highly surprised they interviewed you, with such a background.
Most NETs have at least a B.Ed / DELTA / PGDE, and teaching experience.
Anyway, getting on the scheme itself does not mean you will get a job, and even if you do, it may probably be in one of the schools that nobody wants to go to...for good reasons.