Burnt out teacher looking for help with error correction

Help, tips and advice in teaching English. Classroom problems, lesson planning, career advice, staff...

Moderator: Susan

Burnt out teacher looking for help with error correction

Unread postby Kimbo » 22 May 2006, 18:20

Dear Lucy,

I have been a teacher now for 6 years in Germany, so I am experienced and have my TESOL certificate. The problem I have now is I had a group of Intermediate students actually suggest I make corrections EVERY time they make a mistake. Of course, this is not really possible at their level and if you have your teaching certificate you realize this is also self-defeating. But, when is enough correction, enough? and when is too little, too little?
I also had another student tell me he feels he has not improved after a year. For this student, we have been over the grammar points again and again, but I think he has made those mistakes for 15+ years and most of the time for his job he is either speaking German, Russian or Polish.
Maybe I am just getting burnt-out??
Any ideas...and what are your thought on using one book for the whole course possibly supplemented by the grammar book. I have seen normally my students don't like the course books and well, to be honest I have not been impressed with much that is out there. I have used the Berlitz materials as well as the Market Leader books.
I appreciate your feedback......

Kim
Kimbo
Registered Member

Getting the balance in error correction

Unread postby Lucy » 26 May 2006, 14:28

Dear Kim,

You seem to have a lot of questions, so I will answer you in two separate posts.