How do I get started in teacher training?

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

ngoclinh

How do I get started in teacher training?

Unread post by ngoclinh »

Dear Lucy,
I am going to teach a group of teachers. They are middle-aged and specialized in mathematics and physics and chemistry. They have to teach these subjects in english to high school students who are going to study abroad. The problem is their english is very limited and they have difficulty lecturing in english. My job is to help them use english to deliver math and physics lessons. I think I’m going to provide them with useful phrases to manage the lessons and control students like today we’re going to learn about, stand up please, who can do this, that’s right, any other ideas….. Can you give me some advice and ideas as to what I should teach them and how should I teach them, how to get them practice ….. Since this is the first time I work as a teacher trainer so I am quite nervous. Also, this job is very important to me because if I am successful I’ll be offered a well-paid job as a teacher of english at a teaching center. By the way, I’d like to say a big thank-you to you for helping me with my last lesson about PROBLEM PAGE. The lesson went on very well and the dean was very satisfied. I hope to hear from you soon.
Phuong
Lucy
Top Contributor

Teacher training

Unread post by Lucy »

Dear Phuong,

This sounds like a very interesting task; I hope you will be able to get the job in the teaching centre.