Unqualified Native Speaker

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

Vivienne

Unqualified Native Speaker

Unread post by Vivienne »

Hi Lucy

This is a wonderful site and very useful, thank you.

I'm a native speaker (British/South African) and I've been teaching conversation for almost two years. I recently got a new job which requires teaching more grammar and I find this very difficult. I usually prepare myself in advance, so that I'm clear on the grammar point in context of the lesson. The problem is, is that my students tend to ask me questions about grammar as they arise in their minds, and I, not wanting to divert from the planned lesson or ignore their questions, get into a mild panic because I don't always have the answers available at the tips of my fingers. I tend to rather teach grammar points by example rather than in a technical way.

Is there any advice you can give me? Would a formal qualification help?

Another thing I find is that my students love grammar when it's in a multiple choice questionnaire and they usually score full marks, but when it comes to using the grammar in conversation they mix it up completely and it's confusing for them.

I sincerely love what I do and I have been quite successful, so I really want to beat this fear I have about teaching grammar.

At the moment I'm teaching from Cambridge's Let's Talk, which is my employer's standard curriculum. What's your professional opinion of this course?

Thank you for your time.
EnglishClick

Re: Unqualified Native Speaker

Unread post by EnglishClick »

Hi Vivienne,

I hope you don't mind me replying even though the post is addressed to Lucy, but I too have fears of teaching Grammar.