Sudden attack of "I can't do it!"

Help, tips and advice in teaching English. Classroom problems, lesson planning, career advice, staff...

Moderator: Susan

Sudden attack of "I can't do it!"

Unread postby georgegilbert » 05 Aug 2005, 16:14

I'm a beginner in the world of teaching English, although I did a year long module in English Language Teaching Methodology as part of my English degree.

I don't have a CELTA certificate, which is obviously debilitating me in my hunt for work abroad, but I have been offered a job by a fairly small organisation in Thailand. (Surat Thani).

I'm basically posting because I'm having a sudden attack of "I can't do it!"

I feel like I'm missing out on something huge by not having done the CELTA course... Would you suggest I definitely get it under my belt before looking for work? Are there many reputable institutions who will take me on just my TEFL certificate and English degree, or should I distrust anybody who is prepared to employ me without one?

Also, is it worth taking the Thai job just because it's an opportunity to get experience? There are only 5 days holiday which sounds like a really small amount! I'm just not sure I have a good feeling about it all....

Your input would be appreciated :)

Thank you in advance!

Georgina
georgegilbert
Registered Member

I can't do it!

Unread postby Lucy » 12 Aug 2005, 21:26

Dear Georgina,

I think your feeling of ’I can’t do it’ is exactly what you say it is. It’s a sudden attack. Of course you can teach. You’ve done a year’s course in teaching methodology. You’ll probably realise this yourself, if you think carefully about it. You could try writing down your successes on that course and remind yourself of these regularly.