What to do with a student who's lost enthusiasm?

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

Susan_Buggi

What to do with a student who's lost enthusiasm?

Unread post by Susan_Buggi »

Hello Lucy,

Its nice to make your acquaintance. I'm a beginning EFL Teacher in South America (When I say "Beginner" I mean no more than 2 months of teaching with no prior teaching experience). I currently have 1 student; a 26 year old male. Thursday I (plan to) start with another student a 27-29 year old female (age uncertain at this point); I interviewed her yesterday to determine what level of English she is at. She knows quite a bit of vocabulary: Numbers, Colors, Animals, etc.
Both adults have a good handle on pronunciation and appear to have a lot of potential. *I'm such an idiot, I didn't think to test her skill on the alphabet, and the sound that each letter makes individually vs. added to words.*

My question for you is: When conjugating (for example) "To Be" in simple present tense, why do we conjugate 3rd person singular to "is"?

I was sitting here, writing up a lesson for class, involving the verb "To Be" with its simple present tense conjugations, when that question popped in to my brain. Then my next thought was "How am I going to explain WHY we conjugate to "is" as it does not sound similar to am/are?" "Do I answer that I don't know, but this is the way it is?" Now, mind you this is one of those "WHAT IF" scenarios - If they ask me why, then ...