How do I help an ESL student with homework?

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

coldon

How do I help an ESL student with homework?

Unread post by coldon »

Dear Lucy,
Please give me any tips or advice in what my approach should be tutoring a 10 year old, Brazilian ,grade 5 student who has just started attending an English speaking school, and needs help keeping up with the class. Her school advised her parents that she needed extra help. She knows some English, and is receiving 2 hours a week of in school tutoring from the school's ESL teacher. I start with her on Monday. She is being given the same homework and classwork as the other students in the class. How do I successfully teach her the vocab and grammar she needs for grade 5 Science, English, Math, Social Studies, plus all the rest that is involved with Grade 5. I am a trained elementary school teacher and have recently acquired ESL basic training in teaching adults, young learners and Business English. I would so appreciate your advice,not only because of your advanced training but vast experience too.
Sincerely,
Coleen
Lucy
Top Contributor

Re: ESL Homework tutor

Unread post by Lucy »

Dear Coleen,