What can I do about a Low Beginner In High Beginner Class?

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

Susan123

What can I do about a Low Beginner In High Beginner Class?

Unread post by Susan123 »

Dear Lucy,
I am a new ESL teacher. I started a job at an Atlanta adult English school in December. I have been teaching an intensive level 1 class. In February, I receeved a new student into class. She is clearly not ready to be in a high beginner class. Everything about the class is too advanced for her. She has had a very difficult time. I have to work very hard to make sure that she experiences some small success in class each day. In my opinion, she needs to be in a survival level English class, or at least in a low beginner class. For example, she has been in class 3 hours a day, 5 days a week, for 4 weeks. She is not able to tell me in English what her address and telephone number are. I discovered this the other day when we were doing a grammar lesson about prepositions.
My supervisors diagree with me. After much difficulty dealing with my immediate supervisor, I went to her supervisor. This woman told me that a lower level beginner class, or private tutoring, are not available because it is not financially feasible. I think she means that it is not finacially feasible for the school. The student is on a F1 visa. She has to take 18 hours of class a week. I do not understand why she cannot take 18 hours at a lower beginner level.
My question is: Is this the typical practice for ESL schools? Do schools offer F1 visa students lower beginner level classes if they are needed? It seems to me that the school that I work for is just trying to get as much money out of this student as they can. She will have to repeat level 1 at least one time. Perhaps twice. Is this what I can expect at other schools?
Thank-You in advance for answering my question. I am so happy to have discoverd this forum.
Susan
Lucy
Top Contributor