I'm a new teacher, Where do I start?

Help, tips and advice in teaching English

Moderator: Joe

CaptainJack

I'm a new teacher, Where do I start?

Unread post by CaptainJack »

Forgive me if I've missed an article somewhere as I hate to re-post questions that have been previously answered. I did look, but found nothing that specifically answered this question.

I have been asked to teach English to an Italian nanny who will be working for some friends of the family. This is a no-charge, just for fun thing (read: Uncertified and unprofessional, with no claims to such). The options where I am, a remote mining camp in Ontario, mean that professional instruction is cost prohibitive.

My pupil has limited command of english already, and is approximatley 25 years old. I have not met her and cannot offer any more information then that; I am a native English speaker.

My question is: Where do I begin? Is there a resource out there that someone could point me to that is a rough step-by-step guide to teaching? Should I be focusing on grammer, verbs, nouns, etc. first?

Thank you for your time and help on this matter.
Cheers
Craig
Lucy
Top Contributor

How do I start teaching?

Unread post by Lucy »

Dear Craig,

I suggest you choose a suitable text book; buy the course book and the accompanying teacher’s book. The teacher’s book will give you ideas and guidance on how to use the course book during your classes.