Not sure what to do/choose

For general discussion between teachers

Moderator: Joe

claha

Not sure what to do/choose

Unread post by claha »

Hello,
I'm a 20-year-old female and you could easily put me in the 'not-sure-what-to-do-in-life' category. I think I'm not really wanted here but I still want to hear your advice.

First of all, I'm not a native speaker but I daresay I'm pretty much fluent in English (oral).
I have some teaching experiences, e.g. as a student I worked as an English tutor and I was a private tutor in a foreign country (including other subjects such as Maths, Biology, Geography) for some kids. But it was never really 'professional' like working for the government or at an institute.

Soo, I'm now preparing to get into a university in England but it's all unsure whether I get accepted or not (results in February). I stumbled upon the idea of earning money (I don't have any qualifications, I started university but decided to drop it) by teaching English because it's something I like to do and can be fun while being abroad. I consider myself a travelling hobo so I <thought> about doing the CELTA. It's neither something I want to do for all my life (since I want to get into university and I have some other plans) nor is it something I want to do for a 'gap year'. I want to do it for myself and whenever I'm abroad, I at least have a wee bit of guarantee of finding a job as an English teacher.

So what do you think about my idea? The motivation is here, the money I am currently working for.

I'm just hesitating after I read through some threads and what I've perceived so far is that people like me doing the CELTA are frowned upon..... if so, what alternative would you advice me to do for teaching English? Furthermore I'm not a native speaker but I think I'm still allowed to do the CELTA? I have done the Cambridge Certificate of Advanced English and I got a grade C (I know I could've done better and I regret it but I was 16 and lazy).