Does age matter in getting a job?

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

jimtekippe

Does age matter in getting a job?

Unread post by jimtekippe »

I am 62 and will complete CELTA training in Feb 2012. I have a masters degree in secondary Special Education (all areas) for K-12 with 27 years of experience and a masters in educational administration (grades 7-12) having been a principal for 6 years prior to retirement in 2011. I am in good health and would like to teach overseas - Asia, South America, or Europe preferred but very open. Am I automatically excluded from consideration due to being over 60? Thanks for the help!
Alex Case
Top Contributor

Re: Does age matter in getting a job?

Unread post by Alex Case »

Just like getting a job back home, it will be very difficult but not impossible. With your experience, I'd try international schools rather than TEFL chains.

I'm guessing you're American, so Europe might be difficult for visa reasons.
JimmyChina

Unread post by JimmyChina »

Dear Sir

This is Heather at JimmyChina.

According to our experiences in finding foreign candidates teaching placement in China, you might not have the chance to teach here due to your age. The main reason is the age limit for work visa application in China.

Hope our suggestion help you on your choosing.
markc
Rising Star

Unread post by markc »

It's tougher when you are over 60, but you have a background in education, if not TESOL. I think you have a chance, but you will need to send out more enquiries and applications.
pokedmund
Rising Star

Unread post by pokedmund »

Different Countries, different cultures, different opinions on age.

For Hong Kong, you could do O.K.

Hong Kongers love the foreign look, they love the native language and this would work in your favour.