TEFL teaching without a degree

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

matcolo

TEFL teaching without a degree

Unread post by matcolo »

Hi there,

I’m undertaking a CELTA course in November, and I wanted to know if there is anything I can do in advance of completing the course in terms of finding myself a TEFL job abroad.

Specifically, I am a little concerned about the paucity of options for people without a degree-level qualification; although I do not have a degree, I have many years’ experience as an editor and writer, as well as the confidence and willingness to immerse myself in other cultures, plus lots of experience of managing people and events.

When I applied to do the CELTA, I was told that, with the possible exception of Japan and South Korea, a degree is not a prerequisite for most TEFL jobs. However, on browsing the jobs database on tefl.com, the vast majority of posts worldwide stipulate a degree as a requirement.

In your experience, is there any possibility of circumventing this, providing that I pass the CELTA? Or is the degree requirement totally immovable?

Also, is it worth applying for posts in advance, or at least registering an interest in working for a specific language school/company? Or would this be pointless given the fast-paced nature of TEFL appointments?

Many thanks in advance,
Matt.
pokedmund
Rising Star

Re: TEFL teaching without a degree

Unread post by pokedmund »

My advice...if you still want to try teaching english abroad, send your CV and cover letters to the employing agencies, explaining that you will completed the CELTA in November.

I can't think of anything else you can do to improve your chances. Allegedly, some people have mentioned the Open University as a "degree alternative".