Where can one teach without a degree?

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

explorermic

Where can one teach without a degree?

Unread post by explorermic »

Can anyone provide up to date information on exactly where it is possible to find TEFL work without a degree? I have a degree but my partner doesn't and we'd obviously like to go somewhere together!
Many thanks!
Last edited by josef on 11 Jun 2010, 03:36, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: more meaningful subject line
systematic
Top Contributor

Re: Where can one teach without a degree?

Unread post by systematic »

It's possible to teach practically anywhere without a degree, especially private students in you own flat or in their home, and perhaps in companies as a resident teacher. However, if you are seeking legal, secure employment in mainstream schools, the list will be very short nowadays. We don't provide a list here, but there are some extremely interesting discussions for you to follow where countries and pitfall of teaching without a degree are discussed. Just scan through the board index (there are many discussion in several of the forums here, but mainly in those topics based on employment issues).

When you have checked all that out, this site might provide some extra information:
http://www.ehow.com/how_5017015_teach-e ... egree.html
mgrima

Unread post by mgrima »

Teaching without a degree is always more difficult. As the person above mentioned to work in to public system it is almost impossible now to teach without a degree however in private language schools it is definitely a possibility. I currently am completing my undergrad in teaching English as a second language and am working for a private language school. There are many excellent teachers who working for us and do not have a teaching degree. If you’re not planning on getting a degree I think these types of schools would be your best option.
melgaut

Unread post by melgaut »

Hi!