Prospective ESL Teacher with many questions

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

Hohei

Prospective ESL Teacher with many questions

Unread post by Hohei »

Hello, my name is Dan and I have many questions; I hope I am in the correct forum.

I have a degree in History and interested in teaching abroad. I am a native English speaker from the USA. I speak some German and Swedish and am most comfortable teaching in a country where I'll be learning their germanic or romance language. Yet I understand most of the demand is in the far east, i.e. South Korea, China, Japan, etc. Are there any good programs in Europe?

Also, I'm midway through the process of applying to this program: http://www.educationadventure.org/
So far they have not asked for money; I have a friend who is a professor who warned me that its quite typical for scammers trying to take advantage of young teachers. Is this a credible program? Should I look elsewhere?

Thank you much in advance.

Dan
systematic
Top Contributor

Re: Prospective ESL Teacher with many questions

Unread post by systematic »

Hohei wrote:Also, I'm midway through the process of applying to this program: http://www.educationadventure.org/
So far they have not asked for money; I have a friend who is a professor who warned me that its quite typical for scammers trying to take advantage of young teachers.
Any organisation suggesting you should work as a volunteer in a country where the conditions and salaries are reasonably good (such as the ones you list), need looking at very closely. Nobody, not even voluntary help organisations, does anything for free unless they are benevolent millionaires.
Genuine voluntary work is often done in indescribably poor conditions, and yes, you would be expected to pay for the experience!
Hohei

Unread post by Hohei »