teaching in south america

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

italturk

teaching in south america

Unread post by italturk »

Me and my boyfriend who is Italian whilst I am British want to travel round South America this Summer...I want to teach English whilst he I suppose can do bar work as his english is limited...does anyone have any advice on how i go about teaching english in South America without a degree and get paid for it?
KevinteacherBrazil

Re: teaching in south america

Unread post by KevinteacherBrazil »

italturk,
I can help you out with the teaching English part. I am an English teacher in Brazil and i came here without any qualifications. Really, the biggest qualification is being a native English speaker. You can try contacting some schools before you come here. They will let you work on a tourist visa with no problem and pay you in cash at the end of every month. You can also come to Brazil and look for a job when you get here. This is a bit riskier, but I did it with no problem. You will receive training after you arrive from the school you work for, so no teaching experience is necessary.

I came across a good website about teaching English in Brazil:
http://teachingenglishinbrazil.googlepages.com

Two guys have written about their experience teaching English in Sao Paulo. Their insight is pretty helpful. Good luck with your idea, and I encourage you to go forward with it!

-Kevin
ocumare

Unread post by ocumare »

Just travelling around South America is not the same thing as travelling around Europe. I lived in Venezuela for a lengthy period of time, have travelled and lived in Europe, Asia, and Mexico as well. It is a hell of a lot more dangerous than you imagine. I only hope you have done your homework and speak Spanish and some Portuguese. It is easy to get work and a safer idea to stay put in one place and make planned excursions. Just some plain-speaking advice. Good luck, Ocumare
jonnielsen