Help to teach in Italy

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

Red28

Help to teach in Italy

Unread post by Red28 »

Hi everyone-

I was hoping for some help. I am a retail store manager who is a freelance travel writer. I will be ready to quit my job in the spring and start traveling. I'm interested in teaching English in Italy. I have a bachelor's degree in Business management, but no teaching certification. My questions are:

1. For teaching in Italy, which is best: TEFL, TESOL or CELTA?...I'm so confused

2. I have the ability to take the classes online. Is it better to try to enroll in a school and get my certification in Italy, or just train online?

3. Has anyone used Bridge-Linguatec? Their information was pretty good...but there are so many websites.

4. Bridge-Linguatec offers garunteed job placement- is this really the case? Has anyone had experience wiht this?

I really, really want to do this, but I want to be smart about it. I hope this TA job works out, but if not, I still want to go find a teaching job.

Please help!
Steph
HenryTeach

Unread post by HenryTeach »

Italy basically requires a degree plus cert. An online one is ok but for entry level positions.

I would personally avoid schools which give GUARANTEED job placement since this means that they are promising to find work for even the most incompetant fool and to do that they must be willing to offer appalling jobs at schools which don't care and probably don't pay.

If you want a training school which offers job placements as well then look for one which gives conditional job placements to "the right candidate" or something like that.
Red28

Unread post by Red28 »

Thanks for your reply. Do you know of any schools like this? I've done hours of research, and I can't determine wbich ones are fraud, and which ones are the real deal. Is it better to just go to Italy and try to get my certification while I'm there? Are there schools that offer this?
HenryTeach