Questions on getting Certified to Teach

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

Cravalho

Questions on getting Certified to Teach

Unread post by Cravalho »

Recently, I have done quite a bit of research about teaching English abroad. Right now I am trying to answer some fundamental questions that speak to my current situation so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a Bachelor of Arts from the University of California Santa Cruz in Business, but I want to try my hand at teaching English overseas to support myself during travels. I hear that the best way to find the highest paying jobs is to get certified to teach. I want to teach English in Germany and I know that this field can be quite competitive in Europe. I was interested in getting a certificate that is very widely accepted like the CELTA or Trinity's certTESOL, but I had a few questions first.
I don't know yet if I want to teach English as a career, but I can say that my goals, at this point, are to make a good wage and teach for 1-2 years, possibly more if I like it.

1. Is it a good idea to get a certificate like the CELTA even if I only plan on teaching 1-2 years. (I know this certificate is quite expensive).

2. Should I go to Germany (or out of the US) to get the certificate?

3. Does anybody know the average wage of English teachers in Germany? Also, does anyone know the average cost of living?

4. Are there any good taster courses or workshops that would help me decide whether teaching is right for me before I get certified?

Thank you for any insight or help you can provide.
prague

Re: Questions on getting Certified to Teach

Unread post by prague »