General advice, tips, etc, desired...

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

kfoss

General advice, tips, etc, desired...

Unread post by kfoss »

Hello,

I am a recent college grad. My major was Secondary English Ed (in the states, i live in Brooklyn, NY) but I want to try a year or so doing TEFL. This is partly because I am unsure of where I want to live, but also because I got arrested recently for a ridiculously small amount of marijuana (which i rarely engage in, and might be able to beat the stupid charge. Oh it makes me so sad and angry that my career could really be ruined over such a stupid thing..) and so I know finding a regular public school teaching job would be hard. The real problem I have is my crippling poverty. I have no TEFL certification and no way to pay for it. I want to find a program that will train me and then employ me. I want to travel, I'd like to go to South America, or Eastern Europe, parts of Asia, Malyasia, etc.... I am flexible, though I think Africa, China, Southeast Asia and a few other places would be a bit much. I am adaptable, quick learning, etc... and I'd like to start in Jan or Feb, though again, I am flexible. I think if I could figure this out it would be amazing. Any suggestions you have, organizations you know of, etc, would be very welcome. Thanks!

-Kristin
systematic
Top Contributor

Re: General advice, tips, etc, desired...

Unread post by systematic »

If Secondary English Ed is a university degree in education in the USA, doesn't it give you any teacher training? A candidate for a teaching job with a British B.Ed or a degree with a PGCE would rarely need to provide a TEFL Cert. as well.
I offer any information or advice 'as is' and hope that it has been of help. I am not an admin of this board, and my postings do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the board management.
kfoss

Unread post by kfoss »