International House CELTA - worth it?

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

davidc

International House CELTA - worth it?

Unread post by davidc »

Hi, I'm completely new to the idea of TEFL but I'm considering taking a course this year. I've done a bit of research and it seems like most people rate CELTA as the best thing to do. International House run various CELTA courses around the world and I've been lookinig at doing one in a Spanish speaking country. My main issue is they do seem quite expensive, more so than a non-CELTA course. Is this to be expected? Can anyone recommend any IH courses? Sorry if I'm repeating other peoples' questions but the help is appreciated.

Dave.
systematic
Top Contributor

Re: International House CELTA - worth it?

Unread post by systematic »

The CELTA is one of the most highly regarded of all TESOL teacher training courses and therefore comes at a price. International House is one of the major course providers and the quality is uniform wherever you chose to do it.
I offer any information or advice 'as is' and hope that it has been of help. I am not an admin of this board, and my postings do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the board management.
LeProf

Re: International House CELTA - worth it?

Unread post by LeProf »

Hi There,

You're right in thinking that the CELTA (from Cambridge) is a kind of gold standard (I'm proud to have my Cambridge CELTA and DELTA in any case) but there are other factors to take into account too when choosing your TEFL Cert course.

One is obviously the price, and in order for a training centre to offer they Cambridge CELTA they actually have to pay a hefty fee to Cambridge for each trainee, which is inevitably passed on to the trainee.