please help! need to decide between two courses

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

lostwalletgirl

please help! need to decide between two courses

Unread post by lostwalletgirl »

I know this is a lengthy post, but please, I really need help from others. Recently, I have been researching online TEFL courses. I am aware that they are not as good as on-site ones, but since I am a recent graduate, I do not have the means to move to a big city in order take a course. Out of all my research, I have narrowed my choices down to the 120hour course offered by teflonline.com and the i-to-i 100hour course.

However, I am still unsure which one to pick. Even though some are negative, i-to-i still has more reviews than teflonline,and various people have recommended taking i-to-i. On the other hand, the course outline for teflonline (http://www.teflonline.com/content.php) seems to be better and provides more detailed information than i-toi's 100hour one (http://www.onlinetefl.com/online-tefl/course.html). For example, there are video tutorials on almost every part of teflonline's outline, and the module's include pronunciation and lesson planning. Moreover, teflonline.com is associated with BridgeTEFL and is accredited by ACCET, which is a private organization that is recognized nationally by the U.S. Department of Education and is included in a list of recognized accreditation associations.

All and all, I am leaning towards taking teflonline.com, but the lack of reviews makes me hesitant to enroll just yet. If anyone has some advice on which to take I would appreciate a response even if it is just a link to reading reviews on the courses.
Olivia

Re: please help! need to decide between two courses

Unread post by Olivia »

Hello lostwalletgirl,