Advice on CELTA/TEFL/TESOL qualifications required

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

JAYSON

Advice on CELTA/TEFL/TESOL qualifications required

Unread post by JAYSON »

Hi, I have been teaching English for many years. However, I don't have any CELTA/TEFL/TESOL qualifications. I am going to get one so as to make myself more marketable and competitive. Can you tell me which one, CELTA, TEFL or TESOL, is better and more recognised? I have already got a BA in Translation from HK, MSc in Business from the UK, and International Diploma in Training & Teaching from the UK. In that regard, MA in TESOL/TEFL is not my choice because it's much more expensive and time-consuming. I look forward to hearing your advice. Many thanks!
ICAL_Pete
Top Contributor

Unread post by ICAL_Pete »

It really depends on where you want to teach and at what level. CELTA has a high profile in Europe and is undoubtedly a popular qualification that will open many doors however it is also true that in most places around the world the basic requirements for entry level teaching positions are a degree plus a TESL/TEFL certificate - not necessarily a CELTA.

However, given your teaching experience you could look at something more than just a basic TEFL course, like the ICAL TESL/TEFL course with Teaching Practice. Some schools favor certification which includes the assessment of the candidate’s teaching practice through close monitoring of actual lessons carried out in a classroom. This course gives scope to those teachers who wish to have such a component included in their training.

Alternatively you could look at specializing in teaching English to young learners, for example. You could also consider a DELTA if you are looking for further career progression but don’t want to go as far as an MA.
JAYSON

Unread post by JAYSON »